Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 8/27 Results

Waterford, CT (August 27, 2014) – Waterford Speedbowl returned to motorsports action on Wednesday evening with another Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing program. Scoring wins included Joey Ternullo of Middletown in the INEX Legend Cars, Jim Boyle of East Windsor in the Super X-Cars, Wayne Shifflett of Preston in the X-Car division and Ken Morin Jr. of Old Saybrook in the INEX Bandoleros.

In the 25-lap INEX Legend Cars feature, Mike Christopher Jr. tracked down last year’s titlist, Joey Ternullo, doing so under a long green flag run. Ternullo held the top spot but appeared to be handling a tight handling car, enabling Christopher to dive underneath him on lap-11. Ternullo fought for two laps outside of Christopher before succumbing, tucking in behind. A final opportunity to unseat Christopher came with three laps remaining when a yellow flag came out. Christopher got a good restart to pull ahead but Ternullo stayed with him to the checkered flag, however was unable to stay alongside. Ternullo finished second and T.J. Thompson was third on the track.  However, Christopher’s car failed post race technical inspection and Ternullo was awarded the victory on Thursday.  Thompson was lifted to second and John O’Sullivan Jr. was credited with third in the final rundown.

Boyle checkered the Super X-Car division for the first time in multiple seasons, picking up a victory in the non-stop 25-lap race. Boyle took the lead early, driving underneath Jon Porter in a battle among former division champions. Boyle took command on lap-5 and cruised from there. He outdistanced Bill Reiman, who finished second. Marc Shafer was third in a cleanly and quickly competed event.

Shifflett waltzed away from the competition after an opening lap caution flag in the 25-lap X-Car feature. He used a three wide maneuver inside leader Chris Lee and C.P. Burdick in turn three, racing into the lead on lap-5. Shifflett pulled away leaving the rest of the field to chase him. Jordan Hadley finished second and point leader Zac Thomas was third.

Morin led from start to finish in the 20-lap INEX Bandolero feature, holding the top spot over one caution flag, which slowed the race on lap-7. He had point leader Anthony Marvin to his outside for the restart but was able to fight off Marvin’s bid to retain his spot at the front. Marvin chased Morin to the finish but could not counter, settling for second. Nickolas Hovey finished third.

 Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 8/27 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps): 1. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 2. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon; 3. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem; 4. George Whitney, Westbrook; 5. Cornelius Flynn, Hampden, MA; 6. Caterina LaBella, Plainville; 7. David Johnson, Arlington, MA; 8. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 9. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott; 10. Andrew Molleur, Shelton; 11. Art Marrero, Baltic; 12. Cassandra Cole, Westbrook; 13. Michael Comforti, Uxbridge, MA; 14. Noah Korner, Canton; 15. Josh Zentek, East Hartford; 16. David Lespinasse, Milford; DQ – Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott

INEX Bandoleros (20-laps): 1. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook; 2. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 3. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin; 4. Jonathon Puleo, Branford; 5. Ethan Durocher, Plainfield; 6. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook; 7. Branden Tymon, Shelton

X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Wayne Shifflett, Preston; 2. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 3. Zac Thomas, New London; 4. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 5. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic; 6. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 7. Michael Olsen, Deep River; 8. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 9. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry; 10. Craig Tavernier, Moosup; 11. Kyle McPherson, Waterford; 12. Tom Sheehan, Baltic; 13. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; DQ – Rich Nye, Stonington; DQ – Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; DQ – Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; DNS – Chuck McDonald, Groton

Super X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 2. Bill Reiman, Southington; 3. Marc Shafer, Groton; 4. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 5. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 6. Shane Peele, Wales, MA; 7. Ed Ryan, Preston; 8. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI; 9. Ray Reed, Norwich; 10. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 11. Scott Bellisle, Wauregan; 12. Dan Butler, Waterford; 13. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 14. Jon Porter, Canterbury; DNS – James Maher, Shelton


Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: