Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 7/9 Results

Waterford, CT (July 9, 2014) – Waterford Speedbowl beat the heat and was back for another entertaining night of Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday motorsports action. Taking wins on the track included Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott who won again in the INEX Legend Cars, and Jonathon Puleo of Branford checkered the INEX Bandolero feature. The X-Cars ran non-stop and saw Jordan Hadley of Quaker Hill declared the winner. The Super X-Cars ran an extra-distance feature and the cleanly competed feature went to Kevin Moon of Exeter, RI, his first of the year. The 10-lap Women on Wheels race was won by Kim Bickford of Griswold.

Christopher won for the seventh time of the Wednesday season but had to hold back a hard charging Joey Ternullo in the 25-lap INEX Legend Cars race. Christopher was behind an early battle for the top spot between Ternullo, who was last year’s division champion, as well as another former champion, George Whitney. After a caution flag reset the field for a restart with Whitney hanging out to the lead, Christopher got inside of Ternullo on the restart, then used the same move to get inside of Whitney for the lead on lap-10. Once in front Christopher had to hold off Ternullo over three restarts plus a few bumps to his rear bumper courtesy of Ternullo, who made things exciting. Christopher held back the advances and the two finished nose to tail with Whitney a close third.

Puleo made his move outside of Nickolas Hovey when the green flag came out in the 15-lap INEX Bandolero feature to pull ahead on the first lap. Once in front he had to first contend with Anthony Marvin, and later Ken Morin Jr. during the caution-free race. Morin was able to get inside of Marvin and the two raced side-by-side for second position over much of the middle stages of the race before Morin pulled into the spot. Morin was unable to mount a serious bid on Puleo, who pulled ahead to win his

Hadley won the 25-lap X-Car feature, which also ran without a yellow flag from start to finish. Ray Herman had an early lead but he succumbed to Eric Finkbein before the race reached halfway. Finkbein pulled out to an impressive lead as Hadley weaved through traffic to move to second position on the track. Without the benefit of a caution flag, the rest of the field could not catch Finkbein. He crossed the finish line first to claim the checkered flag, however his car was disqualified following post-race inspection. That lifted Hadley to the win. Mitch Bombard was second and last week’s winner Randy Johnston was credited with third.

A special 30-lap Super X-Car feature saw a teenager leading the way for much of the race looking poised to score an upset victory. Shawn Gaedeke was stellar setting the pace of the race, holding back Kevin Moon and Ray Reed for most of the event. The top four cars tightened up over the second half of the race with anticipation mounting as the laps counted down while racing under a long green flag run to open the race. That finally ended on lap-25 when the only caution flag of the race was displayed, putting Moon to Gaedeke’s outside for the restart. Moon was able to drive the outside lane to perfection after the restart to pull into the lead, going on to the victory. Gaedeke settled for second and Reed ran another consistent race to land on the podium again, in third.

The Speedbowl returns on Friday with a special racing card. The Little Guys 200 puts extra-distance racing on the track for four divisions. Open competition Mini Stock and Street Stock features will go 50-laps in distance paying each winner $1,000 to win. A 50-lap Legend Cars race and 50-lap X-Car feature will each pay $500 to the winner. Qualifying races begin at 6:00pm and feature racing begins at 7:00pm. More details are available by visiting Speedbowl.com.

Unofficial Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 7/9 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps): 1. Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 2. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 3. George Whitney, Westbrook; 4. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 5. David Johnson, Arlington, MA; 6. Cornelius Flynn, Hampden, MA; 7. Noah Korner, Canton; 8. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem; 9. Cassandra Cole, Westbrook; 10. David Lespinasse, Milford; 11. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott; 12. Michael Comforti, Uxbridge, MA; 13. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 14. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon; 15. Michael Blaskey, Waterbury

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps): 1. Jonathon Puleo, Branford; 2. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook; 3. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 4. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin; 5. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook

X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 2. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic; 3. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 4. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 5. Zac Thomas, New London; 6. Wayne Shifflett, Preston; 7. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 8. Josh Barrie, Voluntown; 9. Chris Lee, Uncasville; 10. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 11. Onie Pierce, Norwich; 12. Rich Mollo, Seymour; 13. Michael Olsen, Deep River; 14. Mike Shaw, Oakdale; 15. Craig Tavernier, Moosup; 16. Tom Sheehan, Baltic; 17. Matthew Ryan, Groton; 18. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; DNS – Jeff Dombrowski, Ledyard; DNS – Rich Nye, Stonington; DQ – Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; DQ – Ray Herman, Gales Ferry

Super X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 2. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 3. Ray Reed, Norwich; 4. Bill Reiman, Southington; 5. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 6. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 7. Ken Downing III, Branford; 8. Shane Peele, Wales, MA; 9. Scott Bellisle, Wauregan; 10. Marc Shafer, Groton; 11. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI; 12. James Maher, Shelton; 13. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 14. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 15. Jon Porter, Canterbury

Wacky Women on Wheels Race (10-laps): 1. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 2. Michele Cicio, Baltic; 3. Laurel Rand, East Lyme; 4. Karen Porter, Norwich; 5. Danielle Shaw, Oakdale; 6. Victoria Finkbein, Manchester; 7. Brittney Maerkle, Griswold; 8. Susan Sibley, Hamden; 9. Rebecca Liebal, Uncasville; 10. Megan Besso, Uncasville


Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: