Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 6/19 Results

_MG_8932Waterford, CT (June 19, 2013) – Waterford Speedbowl was back on track with another round of Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday action. Scoring victories on a quick paced night of motorsports action at the shoreline speed plant included two first-ever winners, Mitch Bombard of Willimantic and Stephen Kopcik of Newtown. They won the night’s X-Car and INEX Legend Cars feature races, respectively. The Super X-Car race was won by Ed Reed Jr. of Groton and Ken Morin Jr. of Old Saybrook won his second INEX Bandolero feature of the year. In a special event on the night, Charlie Wilcox turned back the clock and put a familiar car in Victory Lane during a Vintage Outlaw Modified race, featuring cars from decades ago racing again on the track.

Kopcik was impressive on his way to victory in the 25-lap Legend Cars feature, holding back all challengers to pick up his first ever win at the track.  He raced around the outside of pole-sitter Carl Blandina when the green flag came out to lead lap-1.  Kopcik pulled out to a lead while a battle for second raged between several cars.  The first caution flag waved when Michael Blaskey spun out of turn four down the front stretch on lap-4.

Kopcik restart strong and resumed his lead, holding the top spot through a caution flag for a tangle between George Whitney, last week’s winner, and Joey Ternullo, the point leader headed into the event, knocked both from the top-five on lap-10.

Kopcik continued to lead when racing returned under the green flag.  The battle for second remained the best on the speedway as Nicholas Sowa had moved into the position but was trying to hold back Angelo Belsito.  Belsito finally worked over Sowa to get inside, taking second on lap-15 just ahead of the final caution flag for a spin in turn four by David Johnson.

Kopcik got away from Belsito on the restart.  As the final 10 laps were completed without further delay, Kopcik’s breathing room over Belsito was sliced away.  Belsito closed to Kopcik’s bumper, but Kopcik was up to the challenge.  He could not be flustered and held the bottom of the track.  Belsito made one final charge on the final lap to try and get by the inside of Kopcik but could not make the move to snatch away the victory.  Kopcik won his first career race by just .041 and is in his third season competing in the Legend Cars division.   Blaskey came back through the field to finish third with a fast race car.

The X-Cars ran green to checkered flags without delay in their 25-lapper. All the starting cars finished the event, which saw Bombard run down early leader C.P. Burdick of Deep River to take the lead for good on lap-13. Bombard cruised to a straightaway victory for his first race win.

The Super X-Car division saw a familiar face in Victory Lane, as Reed took the checkered flag in the 25-lap race. Reed has returned to racing to help his father get back behind the wheel one more time, keeping a racing tradition in the family going strong. Reed is a past Late Model and SK Modified champion at the track.

In the Bandolero feature, the 20-lapper saw Morin lead from start to finish. David French of Rome, PA closed in on Morin’s lead and tailed the winner to the checkered flag, but was unable to make a bid for the win. The race ran without a caution flag.

Wilcox helped put smiles on the faces of many Speedbowl fans as he piloted his restored George “Moose” Hewitt #19 car to the victory. Hewitt won many Speedbowl features and track titles and is one of the track’s all-time most successful and accomplished drivers. Hewitt passed away several years ago, but his familiar #19 Pinto was back in the winner’s circle at Waterford once again.


Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 6/19 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps): 1. Stephen Kopcik, Newtown; 2. Angelo Belsito, Auburn, MA; 3. Michael Blaskey, Waterbury; 4. Nicholas Sowa, Middletown; 5. Michael Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 6. Carl Blandina, Milford; 7. George Whitney, Westbrook; 8. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 9. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 10. Colin Haley, Ashford; 11. Joshua Zentek, East Haven; 12. Art Marrero, Baltic; 13. David Lespinasse, Milford; 14. David Johnson, Arlingham, MA; 15. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem

INEX Bandoleros (20-laps): 1. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook; 2. David French, Rome, PA; 3. Corey Comeroski, Lebanon; 4. Christian Eckes, Middletown, NY; 5. Jonathon Puleo, Branford; 6. A.J. Eastman, Fishers Island, NY; 7. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 8. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook; 9. Jacob Perry, Pawcatuck

Super X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Ed Reed Jr., Groton; 2. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 3. Frank Alessio, Colchester; 4. Jon Porter, Canterbury; 5. John Yagmin, Tolland; 6. Dan Butler, Waterford; 7. Ken Downing III, Branford; 8. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 9. Ed Ryan, Preston; 10. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 11. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 12. Ray Reed, Norwich; 13. Bill Reiman, Southington; 14. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 15. Marc Shafer, Groton; 16. Robert Goulet, Southington; 17. Ray Phillips, Canterbury; 18. James Maher, Shelton; 19. Eric Finkbein Sr., Columbia; 20. John Brouwer Jr., Groton; 21. Justin Cook, Clinton; 22. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; 23. Todd Taylor, Waterford

X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Mitchell Bombard, Willimantic; 2. Wayne Shifflett, Preston; 3. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 4. Michael Marvin, Colchester; 5. Larry Loomis Jr., Moosup; 6. Chris Thomas, Waterford; 7. John Bowes, Willington; 8. Zach Thomas, New London; 9. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 10. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 11. Mike Trask, Plainfield; 12. Brad Voglesong, Middletown; 13. Melissa Clavette, Bozrah; 14. Nate Bryington, Webster, MA; 15. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 16. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 17. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 18. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 19. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 20. Zach Ezzell, Plainfield; 21. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 22. Matthew Westover, Gales Ferry; 23. Frank Shepard, Bozrah; 24. Craig Tavernier, Moosup; 25. Garrett Kuhn, Waterford

Vintage Outlaw Modifieds exhibition (20-laps): 1. Charlie Wilcox, Dayville; 2. Bill Cummins, Clinton, MA; 3. Art Chartier, Douglas, MA; 4. Darryl Dutch, Greenville, RI; 5. Tom Beauregard, Norwich; 6. Tom Cerroni, Smithfield, RI; 7. Doug Sogolow, Canterbury; 8. Bob Krollade, Long Island, NY





Did you like this? Share it:

Category: News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: