Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 6/18 Results

Waterford, CT (June 18, 2014) – A beautiful summer night greeted race fans in attendance for Waterford Speedbowl’s Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing program. An action packed motorsports card landed the first victory of the year for Middletown’s Joey Ternullo in the INEX Legend Cars. Anthony Marvin of Colchester won another INEX Bandolero feature and Zac Thomas of New London was back in the winner’s circle following the X-Car race. Dan Moon of Exeter, RI was awarded his first Super X-Car victory of the year and Art Chartier of Douglas, MA checkered the Vintage Outlaw Modified feature.

Ternullo and Christopher put on a memorable duel in the night’s 25-lap INEX Legend Cars race. Ternullo, last year’s division champion, got to the front first which was a big key in his success. Following a lap-7 restart, Christopher challenged Ternullo’s outside but finally tucked back in line behind him on lap-10. Christopher stayed in Ternullo’s tire tracks and the two pulled ahead to a big lead until the final caution flag of the race came on lap-19.

Christopher lined up to Ternullo’s outside, however it was Ternullo jumping back out in front on the restart. Christopher nearly made a run to the inside entering turn one on lap-22 but thought better of the move. Ternullo continued to lead through the white flag and survived a shot to his rear bumper in turn three on the final lap from Christopher before powering to the victory. Ternullo’s win was his first of the year. Christopher settled for second position and Josh Zentek ran a strong race to land a career best finish of third, besting Jordan Churchill.

Thomas came out on top in X-Car action. He got to the front on lap-11, passing Eddie Loomis for the race lead. Jordan Hadley was in tow, getting past Loomis for second the next circuit. The only caution flag of the race came out on lap-15 after three cars battling for a spot among the top-five came together and littered the track with debris.   The restart pitted Thomas and Hadley against one another and Thomas resumed at the front of the pack. Hadley tailed him to the finish, unable to make a move to pull alongside. Rich Nye got by Loomis for third in the final laps.

Marvin led the duration of the 15-lap INEX Bandolero feature but couldn’t shake Ken Morin Jr., who was seeking a second consecutive win. A week ago, the two battled door-to-door for the victory with Morin coming out on top. This week, Marvin got the early jump to lead Morin. Morin tried an outside move over the final two laps, drawing even with Marvin as they raced to the white flag. They battled side-by-side over the final lap with Marvin winning by just inches in a photo finish. Jonathon Puleo ran with the leaders all race and finished two cars behind in third.

Moon was declared the winner of the night’s 25-lap Super X-Car feature after post-race technical inspection. Moon finished second on the track to Dave Yardley, who pulled ahead after each of several restarts to seemingly take down the win. Following the race, it was Moon who was named the victor. He came out on top of a spirited battle on the track with Ray Reed in what turned out to be the race for the win.

The event was a “cone race”, giving top running drivers the option to restart in the inside or outside lane. Moon capitalized on the final of the restart when Reed, running in second position, chose the inside lane and gave up the spot to Moon. Yardley got away from Moon when racing resumed, but Moon used the outside lane to fight off Reed for several laps, crossing the finish line in second position. Following the disqualification of Yardley, Reed moved into the runner-up position and Marc Shafer was credited with third.

The Vintage Outlaw Modifieds brought back memories to Speedbowl fans, as restored racecars from the past raced on the track again. Chartier took the lead early and cruised to the win in a former Tom Jensen racecar. Charlie Wilcox took a former George “Moose” Hewitt #19 car, one of the Speedbowl’s most successful and popular Modified drivers of all-time, to a third place podium finish behind Paul LaPlante.

On Saturday, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour makes its annual visit to the Speedbowl for the Mr. Rooter 161, a 161-lap tribute race to nine-time Modified champion Richie Evans. All eyes are on Doug Coby and Ryan Preece, the past two series champions, each claiming a win in the previous two editions of the 161. A full NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing card supports the event. Advance tickets sales are open online by visiting Speedbowl.com.

Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 6/18 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps): 1. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 2. Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 3. Josh Zentek, East Hartford; 4. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon; 5. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 6. Cornelius Flynn, Hampden, MA; 7. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 8. David Lespinasse, Milford; 9. Caterina LaBella, Plainville; 10. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott; 11. Cassandra Cole, Westbrook; 12. Noah Korner, Canton; 13. Peter DePizzol, North Franklin; 14. Michael Blaskey, Bethany

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps): 1. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 2. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook; 3. Jonathon Puleo, Branford; 4. Ethan Durocher, Plainfield; 5. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook

X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Zac Thomas, New London; 2. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 3. Richard Nye, Stonington; 4. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 5. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 6. Andrew Lee, New London; 7. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 8. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 9. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic; 10. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 11. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 12. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry; 13. Michael Olsen, Deep River; 14. Craig Tavernier, Moosup; 15. Josh Barrie, Voluntown; 16. Richard Mollo, Seymour; 17. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 18. Thomas Sheehan, Baltic; 19. Matthew Ryan, Ledyard; 20. Robert Butler, hometown unavailable; 21. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford

4Super X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 2. Ray Reed, Norwich; 3. Marc Shafer, Groton; 4. Bill Reiman, Southington; 5. Ken Downing III, Branford; 6. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 7. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 8. Scott Bellisle, Wauregan; 9. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI; 10. Jon Porter, Canterbury; 11. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 12. Shane Peele, Wales, MA; DQ – R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; DQ – Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; DQ – Dave Yardley, Berlin; DNS – Ray Phillips, Canterbury

Vintage Outlaw Modifieds top-five (20-laps): 1. Art Chartier, Douglas, MA; 2. Paul LaPlante, North Attleboro, MA; 3. Charlie Wilcox, Dayville; 4. Ed Mulligan, Pascoag, RI; 5. Tom Cerrone, RI


Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: