Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/29 Results

Waterford, CT (May 29, 2013) – Waterford Speedbowl was back on track for another round of Wild ‘n Wacky racing Wednesday evening, placing five event winners in Victory Lane. Scoring wins included Joey Ternullo of Middletown in the Legend Cars while it was a first career trip to the winner’s circle for Corey Comeroski of Lebanon in the Bandolero division. Mike Trask of Plainfield won his second X-Car race of the year and Kevin Moon of Exeter, RI came out on top in a close Super X-Car race. Christopher Lee of Uncasville won the night’s Wacky Musical Car Race.

Ternullo was the winner of a wild 20-lap INEX Legend Cars feature. He overcame adversity to take the victory, surviving spinning out during a lap-6 accident that knocked him to the pit area for repair to his rear suspension. The race began with first year driver T.J. Thompson taking the lead when the green flag came out. Nick Sowa took over the lead on lap-5 ahead of the first caution flag of the night when John O’Sullivan Jr. spun on the track.

Sowa led on the restart but before long the second yellow flag waved as an incident in turn three impacted several competitors. It began as Jordan Churchill attempted a move inside of Stephen Kopcik for fourth position. The two made contact sending both spinning between turns three and four. Others, including Ternullo became collected in a four-car melee. Ternullo pitted for repair and made it back out before the ensuing restart, key in his path to the win.

Sowa continued to show the way as Angelo Belsito moved to second. He trailed Sowa for several laps when caution waved as Joshua Zentek spun entering turn one just ahead of the lead pack on lap-13. Sowa and Belsito were staging for a great duel when the turning point in the race occurred following the restart.

Sowa got a great jump to resume his lead over Belsito. One more circuit was logged when calamity broke out at the front of the field. Sowa and Belsito lost control exiting turn two on lap-14 sending the field behind scattering. When the smoke cleared Sowa went pit side with damage to his machine, Belsito resumed from the rear of the field and fourth place Carl Blandina was also forced to the pits.

The restart handed Thompson the lead back with Ternullo up to second position. Thompson led through lap-16 as Zentek spun again, setting up the final restart. Ternullo powered to the lead outside of Thompson on lap-17 and held back a charging Belsito over the final lap. Belsito finished second while Thompson recorded a best-ever finish of third. It was Ternullo’s second win of the season.

Only one caution period slowed a large 30-car field in the 20-lap X-Car race. Onie Pierce took the initial lead in advance of the first caution flag as contact behind Pierce saw Billy Porter make contact with the turn three wall contending for a top-five position. Scott Limkemann marched into the lead after the caution flag and built up a several car length lead. The field behind spent several laps racing in packs two and three wide sorting out the running order. John Bowes moved to second and chased Limkemann as Trask sliced through the field over the extended green flag run, which carried the race through the checkered flag.

Trask worked his way to third, then picked off Bowes for second position by the time they hit halfway on lap-10. They both closed on Limkemann’s lead as laps clicked off the Budweiser scoreboard. Trask eventually tracked down Limkemann to close on his rear bumper, finally pulling inside and ultimately ahead on lap-15. Once in the lead, Trask cruised to the win over Bowes, who claimed second.

The 20-lap Super X-Car race came down to a restart with three laps remaining between Bill Reiman, who worked his way to the lead by the time the final caution flag came out on lap-17, and Moon. Reiman had taken the lead from Eric Finkbein Sr. on lap-6 using the outside lane. The first caution came out on lap-7 as Jon Porter’s car went up in smoke in mid-pack and Matt Carlson spun in turn two.

Reiman restarted strong and held the lead as Moon moved to second position behind. John Yagmin was third and Mike Maskell fourth as the lead four cars pulled away. Maskell tried to find room inside Yagmin as Moon pressured Reiman. The action was slowed for the final time when John Brouwer Jr. spun in turn two to set up the final restart between Reiman and Moon on lap-17.

Moon was glued to Reiman’s outside as they raced closely over the final circuits once the race resumed. At the white flag, Reiman still had the lead by a nose, however Moon edged ahead down the back chute through turns three and four to win in a close finish. Reiman settled for second.

The 20-lap INEX Bandolero feature was dominated by Comeroski. He won his first-ever feature at the track in convincing fashion, moving ahead of the field at the green flag in the caution-free race. Christian Eckes and Anthony Marvin teamed up in second and third position to draft up to Comeroski’s rear bumper. Comeroski held on over the final laps as Marvin challenged Eckes for second, finally prevailing on the final lap to claim the spot as Comeroski took the checkered flag ahead.

The Wacky Musical Car Race for the X-Cars saw Lee come out on top of an entertaining event. He bested Melissa Clavette of Bozrah in the final round.


Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/29 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (20-laps): 1. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 2. Angelo Belsito, Auburn, MA; 3. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon; 4. Daniel Stolte, Northbridge, MA; 5. Joe Ferrigno, East Hartford; 6. David Lespinasse, Milford; 7. Nicholas Sowa, Middletown; 8. Joshua Zentek, East Haven; 9. Carl Blandina, Milford; 10. Stephen Kopcik, Newtown; 11. John O’Sullivan, Salem; 12. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon; 13. Colin Haley, Ashford

INEX Bandoleros (20-laps): 1. Corey Comeroski, Lebanon; 2. Christian Eckes, Middletown, NY; 3. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 4. Jacob Perry, Pawcatuck; 5. Jonathon Puleo, Branford; 6. A.J. Eastman, Fishers Island, NY

Super X-Cars (20-laps): 1. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 2. Bill Reiman, Southington; 3. John Yagmin, Tolland; 4. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 5. Frank Alessio, Colchester; 6. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; 7. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 8. Ray Reed, Norwich; 9. Ken Downing III, Branford; 10. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 11. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 12. Eric Finkbein Sr., Columbia; 13. Peter Pollard, Old Lyme; 14. Robert Goulet, Southington; 15. Justin Cook, Clinton; 16. Jon Porter, Canterbury; 17. Marc Shafer, Groton; 18. Patrick Broderick, Glastonbury; 19. John Brouwer Jr., Groton; 20. Dave Yardley, Berlin; 21. Dan Butler, Waterford; 22. Ray Phillips, Canterbury

X-Cars (20-laps): 1. Mike Trask, Plainfield; 2. John Bowes, Willington; 3. Chris Thomas, Waterford; 4. Brad Voglesong, Middletown; 5. Michael Marvin, Colchester; 6. Mitchell Bombard, Willimantic; 7. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 8. Larry Loomis Jr., Moosup; 9. Melissa Clavette, Bozrah; 10. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 11. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 12. Nate Bryington, Webster, MA; 13. David D’Alessandro Jr., Coventry; 14. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 15. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 16. Mark Tourville, Groton; 17. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 18. David Gargaro Jr., Cranston, RI; 19. Mike Lovetere, Niantic; 20. Aaron Piper-Sypher, Clinton; 21. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 22. Elizabeth Gaston, Vernon; 23. Garrett Kuhn, Waterford; 24. Onie Pierce, Norwich; 25. Zach Thomas, New London; 26. Billy Porter, Thompson; 27. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 28. Matthew Ryan, Groton; DQ – Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; DQ – Wayne Shifflett, Preston

Wacky X-Car Flag Pole Race (top-five): 1. Lee; 2. Clavette; 3. Hadley; 4. McDonald; 5. Gargaro Jr.




Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: