Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/28 Results

Waterford, CT (May 28, 2014) – Waterford Speedbowl returned to action with another round of Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing. A first time winner joined four returning faces to Victory Lane in an action packed night of motorsports. Leading the way was Michael Blaskey, who his first-ever checkered flag in the INEX Legend Cars division. Jon Porter won another Super X-Car race, Zac Thomas was the winner of the X-Car race and Anthony Marvin claimed the INEX Bandolero feature.   Chuck McDonald was king of the night’s Wacky Race for the X-Cars.

Blaskey put forth a memorable effort on track during the 25-lap INEX Legend Cars feature to land what was a first-ever win. He took the lead at the green flag and charged ahead. The race was slowed by five caution flags and Blaskey hit his marks on each restart to maintain his lead. Over the final two restarts, he was challenged by last year’s division champion, Joey Ternullo. Blaskey proved to be too strong, going on to the win over Ternullo. John O’Sullivan Jr. finished third.

Porter was back in Victory Lane for another Super X-Car win. He came on strong over the middle of the 25-lapper, riding the outside lane over a stretch of green flag racing that brought him past the front runners into the lead. Porter took command from Shane Peele on lap-14 and never looked back. He pulled ahead to the win over Kevin Moon, followed by early leader Ray Reed, who finished third.

Thomas was declared the winner in the 25-lap X-Car race after finishing second on the track. Thomas bested Randy Johnston, who finished runner-up after leading two laps and racing among the lead cars all race. C.P. Burdick finished a career-best third in the division.

Marvin was strong in the night’s 15-lap INEX Bandolero feature. He trailed Jonathon Puleo early, but used the outside lane to give Puleo a run for the lead.   Marvin spent three laps finding the right combination to the outside before pulling ahead. He slowly checked out through the checkered flag in the non-stop race. Nickolas Hovey picked up his first runner-up finish in just his second race in the division and Puleo finished third.

McDonald was crafty in the night’s Wacky Race for the X-Car division, a Toll Booth race. He scored the most tokens in a race around the track with a “stop” each lap to place a token in one of four collection bins located on the front chute of the track.

Waterford Speedbowl hosts another edition of Sho & Go at the ‘Bowl on Friday night featuring free grandstand admission, car cruise on the midway and spectator drag racing with a special import night theme.   On Saturday, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing returns for Four Cylinder Fury, the track’s annual celebration of four cylinder racecars. The track’s NASCAR Mini Stock division is in the spotlight, running in a 50-lap feature race. They will be joined by the visiting Northeast Mini Stock Tour and Pro Four Modifieds of New England, the track’s Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday X-Car division, plus NASCAR SK Modifieds® and Valenti Auto Mall Late Models. More information on each event is available online at Speedbowl.com or by contacting the track office at 860.442.1585.


Unofficial Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/28 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps): 1. Michael Blaskey, Waterbury; 2. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 3. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem; 4. Colin Haley, Ashford; 5. Josh Zentek, East Hartford; 6. Cornelius Flynn, Hampden, MA; 7. David Lespinasse, Milford; 8. Andrew Molleur, Shelton; 9. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon; 10. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 11. Michael Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 12. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott; 13. Dennis Pantani, Branford

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps): 1. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 2. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin; 3. Jonathon Puleo, Branford

X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Zac Thomas, New London; 2. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 3. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 4. Matt Westover, Gales Ferry; 5. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; 6. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 7. Kyle McPherson, Waterford; 8. Chris Lee, Uncasville; 9. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry; 10. Josh Barrie, Voluntown; 11. Michael Olsen, Deep River; 12. Rick Mollo, Seymour; 13. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 14. Matt Ryan, Groton; 15. Garrett Kuhn, Waterford; 16. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 17. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 18. Tom Sheehan, Baltic; 19. Rich Nye, Stonington; 20. Andrew Lee, New London; 21. Mike Shaw, Oakdale; DQ – Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; DQ – Mitch Bombard, Willimantic

Super X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Jon Porter, Canterbury; 2. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 3. Ray Reed, Norwich; 4. Shane Peele, Wales, MA; 5. Ken Downing III, Branford; 6. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 7. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 8. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 9. Bill Reiman, Southington; 10. Marc Shafer, Groton; 11. Dave Yardley, Berlin; 12. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 13. Dan Butler, Waterford; 14. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI; 15. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 16. James Maher, Shelton

Wacky X-Cars Toll Booth Race top-five: 1. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 2. Chris Lee, Uncasville; 3. Peter Pollard, Old Lyme; 4. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 5. Matt Westover, Gales Ferry


Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: