Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/15 Results

NEWS-2013-05-15Waterford, CT (May 15, 2013) – Waterford Speedbowl returned to action with its second Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday program of the season on Wednesday evening. Taking down victories included Joey Ternullo of Middletown, CT in the INEX Legend Cars and Christian Eckes of Middletown, NY in the accompanying Bandolero race. Mike Trask of Plainfield scored a popular X-Car win and Mike Maskell of Quaker Hill took the Super-X Car feature. In the night’s Wacky Race, Chuck McDonald of Groton used an impressive showing to race to victory.

Ternullo was the fifth leader in the 20-lap INEX Legend Cars race by the time he reached the top spot in an ultra-competitive feature. As Ternullo slowly worked his way up from the ninth starting position, the lead position changed hands multiple times. John O’Sullivan Jr. bolted to the early lead, however he was chased down by Joey Ferrigno on lap-3. Ferrigno took over and held the top spot until Nick Sowa used the inside lane to get by him to show the way on lap-7. The first caution waved on lap-10 when David Johnson looped his car in turn four.

Sowa led after the restart but T.J. Thompson was on his rear bumper. Contact among the top two cars saw Thompson get into the turn three wall on lap-13, bringing out the second caution flag of the race with Sowa able to continue at the front after the melee.

Sowa showed the way until Angelo Belsito raced his way into contention looking to take his second consecutive win to start the Wednesday series season. Ternullo followed Belsito into second position looking to slow Belsito’s charge.

Ternullo was able to make a power move to the inside of Belsito on lap-17, finishing off the maneuver as the pair raced through turns three and four to the white flag. Belsito attempted to counter with a cross-over move, however Ternullo was too quick and slipped away. Over the final lap, Belsito was unable to mount a comeback and watched as Ternullo took the checkered flag, his first of the year. Belsito finished second while Sowa was able to hold on for third.

The 20-lap X-Car feature was a tale of two halves. Scott Limkemann jumped out ahead of the field in the early going as two and three wide racing by the field dominated the opening laps. Following the first caution flag, Limkemann had company at the front of the field. Randy Johnston and Trask moved into the top three positions behind the leader.

Trask darted outside Johnston for second on lap-9, taking the spot. He immediately went to work on Limkemann’s lead and used the inside groove to make his challenge. The pair battled for two laps before Trask got the better of Limkemann to lead lap-12. Once in the lead, Trask slowly stretched his lead to several car lengths. Trask’s path to victory had a final hurdle however, as lapped cars nearly flustered his momentum. Headed into turn three for the final time, three cars tangled just in front of the leader. Trask drifted high out of the racing groove to avoid contact, enabling Limkemann to make a final charge through the skirmish. Trask was able to drop back in the groove and hold back Limkemann to the finish line. Limkemann finished second and Mitch Bombard placed third.

Eckes won the 15-lap Bandolero feature by the slimmest of margins over Jacob Perry. Perry rallied in the outside lane following a caution on lap-10 to stay glued to Eckes as they raced door-to-door straight through the finish. Eckes held a small advantage at the white flag and held on to narrowly edge Perry at the stripe under the checkered flag. Perry’s had to settle for second while Anthony Marvin finished third. The race featured tight racing by the top pack of cars throughout.

Maskell led throughout the 20-lap Super X-Car feature. His biggest challenge came from three restarts, each time getting the better of defending division champion Jim Boyle. Boyle faded late in the race while Frank Alessio came on strong. He got to Maskell’s rear bumper on the final lap to make a bid for the win but was unable to find a way around. Maskell survived a final assault by Alessio in turns three and four to take the victory. John Yagmin finished third.

The Wacky Race featured the X-Cars compete in a hot dog eating race. McDonald made his pit stop to the Speedbowl infield early, downing two hot dogs before returning to the track ahead of his competition. He held off Brad Voglesong, who completed the event second.

The Speedbowl is back in action this Friday evening with the opening “Sho & Go at the ‘Bowl” of the season, followed by NASCAR Whelen All-American Series action on Saturday. More information on those events and the entire 2013 event schedule can be found online at Speedbowl.com.


Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/15 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (20-laps): 1. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 2. Angelo Belsito, Auburn, MA; 3. Nicholas Sowa, Middletown; 4. Carl Blandina, Milford; 5. Stephen Kopcik, Newtown; 6. Michael Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 7. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 8. Mike Beebe Sr., Old Saybrook; 9. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem; 10. Colin Haley, Ashford; 11. Joe Ferrigno, East Hartford; 12. Timothy DePizzol, North Franklin; 13. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon; 14. David Johnson, Arlington, MA

INEX Bandoleros (20-laps): 1. Christian Eckes, Middletown, NY; 2. Jacob Perry, Pawcatuck; 3. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 4. A.J. Eastman, Fishers Island, NY; 5. Jonathon Puleo, Branford; 6. Corey Comeroski, Lebanon

Super X-Cars (20-laps): 1. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 2. Frank Alessio, Colchester; 3. John Yagmin, Tolland; 4. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; 5. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 6. Ken Downing III, Branford; 7. Jon Porter, Canterbury; 8. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 9. Ray Reed, Norwich; 10. John Brouwer Jr., Groton; 11. Bill Reiman, Southington; 12. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 13. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 14. Justin Cook, Clinton; 15. James Maher, Shelton; 16. Marc Shafer, Groton; 17. Geoffrey Burdick, East Lyme; 18. Eric Finkbein Sr., Columbia; 19. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 20. Dan Butler, Waterford; 21. Bruce Lee, Groton

X-Cars (20-laps): 1. Mike Trask, Plainfield; 2. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 3. Mitchell Bombard, Williamantic; 4. Wayne Shifflett, Preston; 5. Zach Thomas, New London; 6. Chris Thomas, Waterford; 7. John Bowes, Willington; 8. Brad Voglesong, Middletown; 9. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 10. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 11. Nate Bryington, Webster, MA; 12. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 13. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 14. Frank Shepard, Bozrah; 15. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 16. Melissa Clavette, Bozrah; 17. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 18. Billy Porter, Thompson; 19. Matthew Ryan, Groton; 20. Aaron Sypher-Piper, Clinton; 21. David Gargaro Jr., Cranston, RI; 22. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 23. Elizabeth Gaston, Vernon; 24. Onie Pierce, Norwich

Wacky X-Car Hot Dog Eating Race (top-five): 1. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 2. Brad Voglesong, Middletown; 3. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 4. Morgan Boxwell; 5. Christopher Lee, Uncasville






Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: