Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/14 Results

Waterford, CT (May 14, 2014) – Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing was back at Waterford Speedbowl with another entertaining night of motorsports landing five drivers into the winner’s circle. Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott continued his hot streak in the INEX Legend Cars, Jon Porter of Canterbury took home the Super X-Car accolades and Zac Thomas of New London was awarded the win in the X-Cars. Anthony Marvin of Colchester won for the second time in as many week in the INEX Bandoleros and Dave Gargaro Jr. of Cranston, RI was tops in the night’s Wacky Race.

Christopher rolled to his second consecutive 25-lap INEX Legend Cars victory on Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday and third overall in the division at the Speedbowl this season. He took the lead on lap-8 from T.J. Thompson of Lisbon, racing to his inside for a lap and a half before pulling ahead. Thompson stuck with Christopher through the second and final caution flag of the race on lap-17. Christopher controlled the restart to get away from Thompson by turn one, cruising to the win. Thompson took home a career best finish with second position and last year’s division champion Joey Ternullo of Middletown finished third.

The 25-lap X-Car race win went to Thomas after apparent race winner Jordan Hadley failed post-race technical inspection.  Hadley, from Quaker Hill, jumped to the lead from his pole starting position into the lead on lap-1, rolling to the apparent victory in a non-stop race. The winning move from Thomas came racing through traffic, emerging with second position before halfway. Thomas continued to chase Hadley, but finished nearly a half track behind. However, his efforts were good enough to lift him to the win. Randy Johnston of Westerly ended up as the runner-up and Matthew Westover of Gales Ferry was credited with third.

Porter emerged with the lead with a strong run following a caution flag on lap-12. Porter restarted the race in third but quickly worked his way past Ray Reed, who had led from lap-1. Reed, from Norwich, fell back into a battle for second and third position over the second half of the race as Dave Yardley of Berlin moved into contention. He couldn’t keep pace with Porter but had a final shot to steal the win with two late race restarts coming with two laps remaining. Porter pulled ahead each time to finish off the win. Yardley finished second and Waterford’s Dan Butler finished third.

Marvin controlled the pace of the 15-lap INEX Bandolero race for the second consecutive week. A red flag just before halfway in the race didn’t hinder Marvin’s focus. When the race resumed he continued to lead, never missing a beat. He beat Jonathon Puleo of Branford and Nickolas Hovey of Chaplin, who made his first ever start in the division.

Gargaro was master of the night’s Wacky Race, which was a Musical Car Race for the X-Cars.   Gargaro advanced each round and came out on top of a final battle with Uncasville’s Christopher Lee in the final round.

The Speedbowl takes a break from its Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday series next week on May 21. The series makes a cameo appearance on Saturday, May 24 when the Legend Cars, X-Cars and Super X-Cars join the track’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing program for the track’s Super Saturday Showdown event, featuring a reduced adult grandstand admission price of just $12.00 for adults with youth admitted free. Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing returns on Wednesday, May 28.

 Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/14 Results & standings:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps): 1. Michael Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 2. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon; 3. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 4. George Whitney, Westbrook; 5. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon; 6. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem; 7. Colin Haley, Ashford; 8. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 9. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 10. Josh Zentek, East Haven; 11. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott; 12. David Lespinasse, Milford; 13. Andrew Molleur, Shelton; 14. David Johnson, Arlington, MA; 15. Michael Blaskey, Waterbury

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps): 1. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 2. Jonathon Puleo, Branford; 3. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin

X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Zac Thomas, New London; 2. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 3. Matt Westover, Gales Ferry; 4. Richard Nye, Stonington; 5. Kyle McPherson, Waterford; 6. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 7. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic; 8. Mark Shepard, Griswold; 9. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry; 10. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 11. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; 12. David Gargaro, Cranston, RI; 13. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 14. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 15. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 16. Richard Mollo, Seymour; 17. Josh Barrie, Voluntown; 18. Michael Olsen, Deep River; 19. Matthew Ryan, Groton; 2. Elizabeth Gaston, Vernon; 21. Garrett Kuhn, Waterford; DQ – Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; DNS – Andrew Lee, New London

Super X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Jon Porter, Canterbury; 2. Dave Yardley, Berlin; 3. Dan Butler, Waterford; 4. Ray Reed, Norwich; 5. Ken Downing III, Branford; 6. Bill Reiman, Southington; 7. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 8. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 9. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 10. Shane Peele, Wales, MA; 11. Matthew Carlson, Griswold; 12. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 13. Marc Shafer, Groton; 14. James Maher, Beacon Falls; 15. Thomas Brayman, Plainfield; 16. Todd Taylor, Waterford; 17. Mike Maskell, New London; DNS – John Kazersky, Niantic

Wacky Musical X-Cars Race Winner: 1. David Gargaro Jr., Cranston, RI


Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: