Wild ‘n Wacky track champions determined Wednesday

Final event of series season will settle point battles in all divisions

Waterford, CT (September 10, 2013) – After 20 weeks of memorable events and on-track battles, Waterford Speedbowl will close its Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday season this week with the final series race program for 2013. None of the point championships in any division are decided headed into the event, testimony to a competitive season across all race divisions. In total, 15 first time winners have emerged on the year with the final program remaining.

The X-Car class battle sees veteran racer Brad Voglesong of Middletown leading the way ahead of a first-year driver, Zach Thomas of New London. Voglesong seeks his third title overall in the series but first since 2008. He leads Thomas by just 11 points and leads the ultra-competitive division in wins during the season with four. Willington’s John Bowes is also still mathematically alive, by just one point however. Should either Voglesong or Thomas start the race, he would be eliminated. Nearly 30 cars are expected in the race Wednesday sure to add plenty of drama.

In Super X-Cars, five drivers have a chance to claim the championship. Frank Alessio of Colchester and Bill Reiman of Southington are best positioned to take the title as just 12 points separate them at the top of the standings. Alessio was the champion in 2011, while Reiman would be a first-time champion. Both have been extremely consistent on the season. Kevin Moon of Exeter, RI, John Yagmin of Tolland and Ken Downing III of Branford join Alessio and Reiman as title hopefuls that are still alive. Yagmin is already a two-time division champion.

The INEX Legend Cars division has a young driver leading the way into the final event with the biggest cushion of all point leaders in the respective Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday divisions. Joey Ternullo of Middletown leads Newtown’s Stephen Kopcik by 50 points, nearly impossible to overcome. Ternullo is in just his second year in the division after gaining experience in the track’s Bandolero division for two seasons. If Ternullo closes out the championship, he would become the youngest champion in the history of the division at 14 years of age.

Lebanon’s Corey Comeroski leads Anthony Marvin of Colchester by just 10 marks in the INEX Bandolero standings. The Speedbowl will crown one of them as the fifth ever champion in the popular youth racing division that began in 2009. The past three seasons have seen a girl win the division title.

The Speedbowl also tracks Wacky Race standings during the Wednesday season. Peter Pollard of Old Lyme and Chuck McDonald of Groton lead the way in the respective Super X-Car and X-Car classifications. Both are well-positioned to earn those two titles.

Next Wednesday, September 18 the track will officially crown all champions as well as name the top Rookie drivers, Most Improved Drivers, Sportsmanship Award Winners as well as Pit Crew of the Year honors at a banquet celebrating the season. The banquet will be held on grounds at the Speedbowl. Banquet order forms are available by visiting Speedbowl.com or contacting the track office. A buffet dinner in addition to entertainment, dancing and drinks is included. Tickets for the event will also be available at the door.




Did you like this? Share it: