Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesdays 7/25 Results

#81 Ken Morin Jr. leads #1 Derek Debbis in the first Bandolero feature of the night

Waterford, CT (July 25, 2012) – A large crowd turned out for the Speedbowl’s weekly Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing program earlier this evening and were treated to an entertaining night of motorsports. INEX racing fans were treated to extra racing as the Legend Cars division went extra-distance in laps, with Matt Pappa of Nassau, NY scoring a big summer win. In the Bandolero division, nine-year old Derek Debbis of Oakdale was on fire scoring both 20-lap twin feature races. Glen Thomas Jr. of Groton won his second consecutive Wednesday night X-Car feature and Ed Ryan of Preston was the night’s Super X-Car race winner. Wacky Race veteran Brad Voglesong of Middletown picked up the win in a very Wacky Flagpole Race for the X-Cars.

Pappa picked up an extra-distance victory in a special mid-summer 30-lap Legend Cars race. He became the third leader of the event on lap-12 racing inside of race leader Dana Dimatteo. Pappa led comfortably through the middle of the race that ran through lap-20 without a caution. Pappa held back Dimatteo, Nicholas Lascuola and Dave Garbo Jr. over two late race restarts to take the win. They finished in second and third behind Pappa, respectively.

#01 Matt Pappa holds off #76 Dana DiMatteo and #88 David Garbo Jr.

Debbis was dominant in the first of two 20-lap Bandolero features, taking the lead from Ken Morin Jr. on lap-5 after riding his rear bumper over the opening laps. Once in the lead, Debbis opened up a straightaway advantage in the caution-free race. Morin finished second while Alex McCollum finished third in just his second Speedbowl start of the year.

In the second 20-lap feature, Debbis was strong from the start and marched his way into the top-three. Action was plentiful throughout the second race, which also ran without any yellow flags. He tacked on to McCollum’s rear bumper in second position on lap-6 and the two moved out ahead of the field. Debbis tailed McCollum until they approached the lapped car of Anthony Marvin on lap-16. Debbis took advantage the lapped car to get to McCollum’s inside down the back chute to get by both the leader and the lapped car by the time the trio entered turn three. Debbis streaked to the win over McCollum and Jacob Perry.

#83 Glen Thomas Jr. leads the pack coming through turn 4 during the X-Car feature

Two caution periods during the 20-lap X-Car feature slowed Thomas’ pace. The race began with Onie Pierce leading lap-1 while Thomas was on the move early. He reached the top-three by lap-6 when Pierce began dropping back through the field. He was off the pace and dropping fluid before his engine expired on lap-9 which brought out the second and final caution flag. Thomas quickly took over after racing resumed, then led the second half of the race without serious challenge. He beat out John Bowes and Randy Johnston to the checkered flag.

#16 ‘Flying’ Ed Ryan holds on to the lead during a late race Green-White-Checkered finish over #31 Mike Maskell

In the 20-lap Super X-Car race, Ryan took command on lap-2 on the outside of Ken Cassidy Sr. Ryan had to survive a wild race, slowed by a total of five caution flags. Ryan led throughout while behind him, Dan Butler and Mike Maskell swapped second position trying to catch the leader. Butler met misfortune on a lap-18 restart, getting shuffled out of second before a multi-car wreck collected him plus John Brouwer Jr. and Taylor-Marie Moran among others. Ryan held off all challengers on the final restart to go on to the victory over Maskell and Jim Boyle.

The X-Car division participated in the night’s Wacky Race, which featured double “flag poles” set up at opposite ends of the speedway. The event turned wild as multiple cars had trouble navigating the obstacles. Chuck McDonald and Voglesong swapped the lead during the middle of the race before Voglesong went on to the exciting victory.

Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 7/25 Results:

Legends Cars (30-laps): 1. Matt Pappa, Nassua, NY; 2. Dana Dimatteo, Farmington; 3. Nicholas Lascuola, Brockton, MA; 4. Giovanni Giarratana, Newington; 5. Dave Garbo Jr., Stonington; 6. Peter Cirilli, Farmington; 7. Michael Blaskey, Waterbury; 8. George Whitney, Westbrook; 9. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 10. Brendon Bock, Franklin Square, NY; 11. David Johnson, Arlingham, MA; 12. Daniel Stolte, Northbridge, MA; 13. Brad Lowmaster, Califon, NJ; 14. Christopher Kearney, Ellington; 15. Art Marrero, Baltic; 16. Cory Dimatteo, Farmington; 17. John O’Sullivan, Salem; 18. Stephen Kopcik, Newtown; 19. Timothy Heath, Lebanon; 20. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 21. Nicholas Sowa, Middletown; 22. Angelo Belsito, Auburn, MA

Bandoleros (20-laps) feature #1: 1. Derek Debbis, Oakdale; 2. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook; 3. Alex McCollum, Phillipsburg, NJ; 4. Jacob Perry, Pawcatuck; 5. Alan Eastman Jr., Fishers Island, NY; 6. Corey Comeroski, Lebanon; 7. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook; 8. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 9. Rachel Forte, Douglas, MA; DQ – Rene Morgillo, Niantic

Bandoleros (20-laps) feature #2: 1. Debbis, 2. McCollum; 3. Perry; 4. Eastman; 5. K. Morin Jr.; 6. Comeroski; 7. Morgillo; 8. Marvin; 9. Forte; 10. A. Morin

Super X-Cars (25-laps): 1. Ed Ryan, Preston; 2. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 3. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 4. John Yagmin, Tolland; 5. Bo Norman, Clinton; 6. Eric Finkbein, Colchester; 7. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 8. Shawn Perkins, Salem; 9. Peter Pollard, Old Lyme; 10. Dan Butler, Waterford; 11. Ken Downing III, Branford; 12. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 13. Paul Turcotte, East Hartford; 14. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 15. John Brouwer Jr., Groton; 16. Taylor-Marie Moran, Preston; 17. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 18. Ray Reed, Norwich; 19. Steve Bray, East Hartford; DQ – Frank Alessio, Colchester; DQ – Ken Cassidy Sr., Lisbon

X-Cars (20-laps): 1. Glen Thomas Jr., Groton; 2. John Bowes, Willington; 3. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 4. Wayne Shifflett, Preston; 5. Brad Voglesong, Middletown; 6. Mike Trask, Plainfield; 7. Larry Loomis, Plainfield; 8. Chris Thomas, East Hampton; 9. Melissa Clavette, Bozrah; 10. Michael Marvin, Colchester; 11. Richard Mollo, Seymour; 12. Nate Bryington, Webster, MA; 13. Josh Barrie, Voluntown; 14. Kim Bickford, Griswold; 15. David D’Allesandro, Coventry; 16. Zach Ezzell, Plainfield; 17. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 18. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 19. Kristie Hamel, Jewett City; 20. Richard Wysoczynski, Norwich; 21. Craig Miner, Higganum; 22. Onie Pierce, Norwich; 23. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 24. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 25. Shaun Parker, Taftville; 26. Henry Lavallee, Uncasville; 27. Mitchell Bombard, Willimantic; 28. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme

Wacky X-Car Flagpole Race (top-five): 1. Brad Voglesong, Middletown; 2. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 3. C.P. Burdick, Deep River; 4. Richard Mollo, Seymour; 5. Christopher Lee, Uncasville




Did you like this? Share it:

Category: News, WnWW News · Tags: