Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/1 Results


Waterford, CT (May 1, 2013) – Waterford Speedbowl kicked off its popular mid-week Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday series on Wednesday evening, hosting a five-event program under clear skies. Scoring the opening night victories included a pair of first time winners in INEX race action, Angelo Belsito of Massachusetts in the Legend Cars and Anthony Marvin of Colchester in the Bandoleros. Joining them were Wayne Shifflett of Preston who won in the night’s X-Car race and Jon Porter of Canterbury in the Super X-Car event. Peter Pollard of Old Lyme won the evening’s Wacky Musical Car race.

The 20-lap INEX Legend Cars race treated fans to an exciting conclusion. Joe Mucciacciaro took the lead on lap-1 and looked strong out front in the early going. Joey Ternullo quickly moved into second position on lap-2 and chased Mucciacciaro. Belsito quietly worked his way through the pack into the top runners over the first half of the race, arriving in third position on lap-8. Ahead of Belsito, Mucciacciaro led Ternullo by one car length and the pair enjoyed a large advantage over Belsito. The lone caution flag of the race waved on lap-13, enabling Belsito to close up and restart with the lead duo.

Mucciacciaro got a good restart to pick up at the front over Ternullo after the race went back to the green flag. Belsito took second from Ternullo racing to lap-18 with an impressive inside maneuver. Belsito then challenged Mucciacciaro for the victory, getting a superb run exiting turn four to race underneath the leader coming to the white flag. The two ran side-by-side for the win through turns one and two and down the back chute. Belsito charged ahead in turn three, only to see Mucciacciaro regroup, tucking in behind Belsito briefly before diving underneath him exiting turn four with the checkered flag waving. Mucciacciaro’s counter move fell just short as Belsito held him off by a half-car length advantage to win his first career Speedbowl feature in dramatic fashion. Mucciacciaro was forced to settle for second and Ternullo ran a strong race to finish in third.

The 20-lap X-Car race was a battle throughout between veteran racers Brad Voglesong and Shifflett. Voglesong showed the way early, pacing the field from the drop of the green flag through the first caution flag on lap-4. Shifflett already raced his way to second position and lined up alongside Voglesong for the restart. Voglesong picked up at the front with Shifflett trailing until he powered past the leader to take over on lap-9. Shifflett had to master a lap-12 restart and contend with heavy lapped traffic over the remainder of the race. He was unable to shake Voglesong, who tailed him to the checkered flag. Voglesong could not muster a final rally and finished second while Zach Thomas ran with the leaders all race and took home third.

Porter led the distance in the 20-lap Super X-Car event, however he had to master multiple restarts over the event. He took command on lap-1 from defending champion Jim Boyle and opened up a comfortable margin over the competition before the first caution waved on lap-5. Over the remaining laps, Porter had to overcome five additional caution periods in what turned out to be a wild opening night feature. He beat back Boyle and John Yagmin on multiple restarts to turn in the winning performance. Yagmin placed second and Ken Downing III was able to survive the rough going to finish third.

Marvin wired the caution-free 20-lap Bandolero feature for his first-ever win. He took the lead on lap-1 over A.J. Eastman then held back Corey Comeroski on his back bumper over the final 18 laps. Comeroski was able to close in on Marvin’s bumper on multiple occasions however was unable to make a serious bid for the win. He settled for second with Eastman taking third place honors.

The night’s Wacky Race featured the X-Car division in a musical car race. The master of the high-speed variation of musical chairs proved to be Pollard, besting the 10-car field including a final round showdown with Brad Voglesong.

The Speedbowl is back in action this Friday evening with the opening “Sho & Go at the ‘Bowl” of the season, followed by NASCAR Whelen All-American Series action on Saturday, anchored by a 50-lap Street Stock showdown race.


Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 5/1 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (20-laps): 1. Angelo Belsito, Auburn, MA; 2. Joe Mucciacciaro, Wolcott; 3. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 4. Nicholas Sowa, Middletown; 5. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 6. Stephen Kopcik, Newtown; 7. Carl Blandina, Milford; 8. Michael Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 9. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon; 10. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon; 11. Joey Ferrigno, East Hartford; 12. Mike Beebe Sr., Old Saybrook; 13. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem; 14. Colin Haley, Ashford; 15. David LeSpinasse, Milford; 16. Joshua Zentek, East Haven

INEX Bandoleros (20-laps): 1. Anthony Marvin, Colchester; 2. Corey Comeroski, Lebanon; 3. Jacob Perry, Pawcatuck; 4. Alan Eastman Jr., Fishers Island, NY; DQ – Jonathon Puleo, Branford

Super X-Cars (20-laps): 1. Jon Porter, Canterbury; 2. John Yagmin, Tolland; 3. Ken Downing III, Branford; 4. Bill Reiman, Southington; 5. Frank Alessio, Colchester; 6. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI; 7. Matt Carlson, Griswold; 8. John Brouwer Jr., Groton; 9. Ray Reed, Norwich; 10. Dave Yardley, Berlin; 11. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington; 12. James Maher, Shelton; 13. Jim Boyle, East Windsor; 14. Eric Finkbein Sr., Columbia; 15. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton; 16. Peter Pollard, Old Lyme; 17. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill; 18. Marc Shafer, Groton; DQ – Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; DNS – Justin Cook, Clinton

X-Cars (20-laps): 1. Wayne Shifflett, Preston; 2. Brad Voglesong, Middletown; 3. Zach Thomas, New London; 4. Craig Miner, Higganum; 5. John Bowes, Willington; 6. Nate Bryington, Webster, MA; 7. Chris Thomas, Waterford; 8. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic; 9. Michael Marvin, Colchester; 10. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale; 11. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 12. Mike Trask, Plainfield; 13. Melissa Clavette, Bozrah; 14. Christopher Lee, Uncasville; 15. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 16. Richard Mollo, Seymour; 17. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI; 18. William Hagberg-Porter, Thompson; 19. Onie Pierce, Norwich; 20. Mark Tourville, Groton; 21. Aaron Sypher-Piper, Clinton; 22. David Gargaro Jr., Cranston, RI; 23. Matthew Ryan, Groton; 24. Frank Shepard, Bozrah; 25. Robert Butler, Norwich; 26. Garrett Kuhn, Waterford; 27. Elizabeth Gaston, Vernon; 28. Scott Limkemann, Norwich; 29. Javier Rivera, Willimantic; 30. Kim Bickford, Griswold

Wacky X-Car Musical Cars : 1. Peter Pollard, Old Lyme;  2. Brad Voglesong, Middletown;  3. Chuck McDonald, Groton;  4. Frank Shepard, Bozrah;  5. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale;  6. Garrett Kuhn, Waterford;  7. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill;  8. Christopher Lee, Uncasville;  9. Chris Thomas, Waterford;  10. Nate Bryington, Webster, MA





Did you like this? Share it:

Category: News, WnWW News · Tags: