Sunday 10/7 Finale Weekend Results

Waterford, CT (October 7, 2012) – Mother Nature interfered with Waterford Speedbowl’s Finale Weekend Sunday afternoon after just two of the scheduled six races were completed. The visiting Northeastern Midget Association (NEMA) and INEX Legend Cars races were finished before the rain began to fall. Scoring the two race victories were Russ Stoehr of Bridgewater, MA in the 25-lap NEMA feature and Dave Garbo Jr. of Stonington in the Legend Cars.

The scheduled 50-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Mini Stock feature was halted after 22 laps due to wet weather. The remainder of that race, along with the rest of the scheduled races, were postponed until Saturday, October 27. Sunday’s event was rain-checked by management, meaning ticket stubs and wristbands from Finale Weekend will be honored on October 27. Fans must hold their event tickets and present them to Box Office staff on the new date.

The October 27 date will include racing by the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modifieds, Bob Valenti Auto Mall Late Models, Street Stocks and the remaining 28-laps of the Mini Stock feature.  Championships will be decided in the SK Modified and Street Stock divisions.  Additional details will be announced and available on or contacting the track office at [email protected] or the event info line by telephone at 860.442.1585.

In racing action on Sunday, Stoehr powered into the race lead on lap-7 after running down early leader Jim SantaMaria of Burlington. Once in front, Stoehr survived one restart attempt on lap-13 and held off a hard charging Randy Cabral of Plymouth, MA to score the win. Cabral finished in second after coming on strong late, with John Zych of Louisville, KY finishing third.

In the Legend Cars race, Garbo was the benefactor of a lap-17 caution flag which both handed him the race lead, and subsequent victory. Garbo was coming through the field when just ahead, the two race leaders made contact entering turn one. Leader Dana Dimatteo of Farmington spun and second place Giovanni Giarratana of Newington was penalized for overaggressive driving. The caution period was the sixth of the race, causing race officials to red-checker the event, short of its scheduled distance, due to the number of incidents.

In the scheduled 50-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Mini Stock feature, 2012 track champion in the division Ken Cassidy Jr. was out front when the skies opened. Cassidy had already clinched the title and seeks a record 12 victories in a single season in the division to add to his season accolades. Cassidy also clinched the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division IV National Championship with his stellar season.

Waterford Speedbowl Sunday 10/7 Finale Weekend Results

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modifieds® (50-laps): event postponed until October 27

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Bob Valenti Auto Mall Late Models (50-laps): event postponed until October 27

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Street Stocks (50-laps): event postponed until October 27

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Mini Stocks (50-laps): event suspended after 22-laps until October 27

Northeastern Midget Association (25-laps): 1. Russ Stoehr, Bridgewater, MA; 2. Randy Cabral, Plymouth, MA; 3. John Zych, Louisville, KY; 4. Mike Horn, Ashland, MA; 5. Bethany Stoehr, Bridgewater, MA; 6. Greg Stoehr, Bridgewater, MA; 7. Adam Cantor, Glen Cove, NY; 8. Todd Bertrand, Suffield; 9. Anthony Nocella, Woburn, MA; 10. Jim Miller, Weymouth, MA; 11. Jim Santamaria, Burlington; 12. Lee Bundy, Kennebunkport, ME; 13. Phil DiMario; 14. Paul Scally, Raynham, MA; 15. Pete Pernesiglio, Lake Grove, NY; 16. Brian Cleveland, Billerica, MA; 17. Anthony Mavuglio, East Bridgewater, MA; 18. Seth Carlson, Brimfield; 19. Joey Payne, Fairlawn, NJ

INEX Legend Cars (red checkered after 17-laps complete): 1. Dave Garbo Jr., Stonington; 2. Nicholas Sowa, Middletown; 3. Paul Kusheba, Monroe; 4. Dylan Izzo, Westport; 5. Cory Dimatteo, Farmington; 6. Nick Ladyga, Voluntown; 7. Peter Cirilli, Farmington; 8. Stephen Kopcik, Newtown; 9. Kyle Rogers, Waterbury; 10. Joey Ferrigno, East Hartford; 11. Calvin Therrien, Vernon; 12. Dana Dimatteo, Farmington; 13. Giovanni Giarratana, Newington; 14. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon; 15. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 16. Ed Field, Deep River; 17. Richard Erlandson, Moodus; 18. David Johnson, Arlingham, MA; 19. Kyle Hardwick, Chaplin; 20. John O’Sullivan, Salem



Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, NWASS News, Speedbowl General · Tags: