Speedbowl names its 2012 Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday track champions

Waterford, CT (September 24, 2012) – The Speedbowl’s affordable family fun mid-week Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday race season returned in 2012 with some of its most competitive racing ever.  The popular race series achieved memorable moments during its 12th year, including showcasing some of the top drivers in the country to race fans. Each of the program’s four divisions – Super X-Cars, X-Cars, Legend Cars and Bandoleros – received an extra distance race during the season plus three nights of double features for the Bandoleros. Winning the war of weekly competition included Dave Garbo Jr. of Stonington, winning his first Legend Cars title at the Speedbowl. Scott Limkemann of East Lyme and Jim Boyle of East Windsor each found success in their third season competing at the track, winning the X-Car and Super X-Car titles respectively. The only repeat titlist was Rachel Forte of Douglas, MA, taking the Bandolero championship. The track announced each champion after finalizing the season standings.


Garbo rallied over the second half of the season to become dominant in Legend Cars action on Wednesday evenings. Matt Pappa took home the checkered flag in the first four series events of 2012, however Garbo dug deep and raced hard, challenging Pappa in some fierce battles before coming out on top with his first Wednesday victory over Pappa in a 20-lapper on June 20. In total Garbo won six feature races on the Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday season, coming over the final 11 races. The early season battles, coupled with success competing down south, led Garbo to consistency over the stretch run. Garbo was the only division competitor to finish in the top ten at each event.

Last year’s division champion Dana Dimatteo was in the thick of things on a weekly basis, notching one win while mixing it up with each Garbo and Pappa to finish second in the season standings. Pappa led the division in wins with eight, however ran into trouble in some key events and was unable to compete in other events due to a very busy racing schedule. Pappa placed third in the division standings, while first year drivers and Bandolero division graduates Nick Sowa and Daniel Stolte finished fourth and fifth for the year.

Garbo leads the INEX U.S. Legend Cars national standings in the asphalt Semi-Pro division, accumulating a perfect season at 2500 points, combining his Speedbowl success with victories across the nation. Pappa was in contention for the Pro division title in the national standings, putting the Speedbowl’s competitors up against two of the nation’s very best Legend Cars competitors. The result was very memorable racing for fans all summer long. Pappa won a 30-lap race on July 25 and Garbo won the 25-lap season finale on September 19 in the division’s extra-distance events.


The 2012 X-Car season was as competitive as ever. Seven different competitors reached the Speedbowl Victory Lane, keeping the winner’s circle wide open week-to-week. Limkemann took home the most hardware, winning four times to bolster his championship efforts. Glen Thomas Jr. scored the most top-five finishes in the division, and along with two wins, led the standings until Limkemann leaped ahead over the final two events of the year. Division veteran and two-time champion Brad Voglesong may have been the X-Cars most consistent driver as he finished outside the top-ten only once, tops for the division. That kept his championship hopes alive through the final checkered flag and enabled him to place second in the season standings behind Limkemann. Thomas ended up third in the points chase while Wayne Shifflett’s four wins led him to fourth in the standings. Mike Trask put forth another solid season with thirteen top-tens to anchor his fifth place finish for the year. Additional winners included Craig Miner, who took the mid-season 30-lapper, rookie Chris Thomas, winner of a 25-lap season finale, and seasoned competitors John Bowes and Randy Johnston.


The Super X-Car division came down to a battle among seven drivers who remained miraculously close over the course of summer. In the end, Boyle’s steady hand behind the wheel kept him in the hunt as the only driver to finish every race among the top-ten. Boyle’s worst finish of the year, a tenth, actually came in the first race of the Wild ‘n Wacky season. Despite not taking home a checkered flag, Boyle’s determination and consistency provided his path to the title. Dan Butler (division-high six wins), Ed Ryan (1 win), John Yagmin (division high eleven top-fives), Mike Maskell (three wins), Kevin Moon (one win; fourteen top-tens) and Ken Downing (two wins) were among the drivers in contention for the weekly win and championship, finishing behind Boyle in that order. In total, six competitors were victorious including Jon Porter. The competition each week was at an all-time high.


Forte was the only repeat champion of the Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday race program, landing her second consecutive crown in the Bandolero division. The quality of racing by the track’s youngest stars continued to impress fans and officials on a weekly basis. The division graduated several of its top drivers from a year ago, helping new faces taste the limelight of the winner’s circle and podium finishes. Jacob Perry, A.J. Eastman, Jacob Urch and Derek Debbis were winners on the year, along with Forte and Ken Morin Jr. Forte proved as the most consistent driver among the field, turning around a mid-season dry spell to rebound in time to capture the title. She scored six wins and used thirteen top-fives, tops in the division, to buoy her season. Perry became a weekly contender and finished runner-up to Forte. Eastman and Morin spent their share of time at the front while Corey Comeroski, Anthony Marvin and Rene Morgillo made great late-season strides to run among the top cars by season’s end. The division continued to be popular with the fans and provided some amazing moments on the track.

Fans have more opportunities to catch the Wednesday divisions in action in 2012. The Legend Cars and Bandoleros help close the Saturday night season at the final weekly show on September 29, while all four divisions see action as part of the track’s Finale Weekend October 5-7.

The track will crown its champions on Wednesday, September 26 under the Speedbowl hospitality tent located on the speedway grounds.  In addition to celebrating its champions, the top-five in division points will be honored along with the top rookie drivers in each class, plus Most Improved and Sportsmanship award honorees.  All Wednesday competitors, crew members, and fans are encouraged to attend the event.  Doors open at 5:15pm while dinner and refreshments will begin being served just after 5:30pm.   Awards begin being handed out shortly after 6:00pm.  Tickets are available for purchase at the door for $18 per adult guest and $12 per youth guest.  Questions may be directed to the track office by emailing [email protected] or calling the track office at 860.442.1585.



Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: