About Saturday’s/NWAAS

The Waterford Speedbowl NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program runs primarily every Saturday night at the famed shoreline oval. With five or more divisions each night that feature heat races (not time trials) which set the stage for action packed highly competitive features, the Speedbowl’s Saturday NWAAS program is one of the best in the country. Our drivers are regularly in points battles with other drivers across the country to claim bragging rights as the best in their division both on the state and national level.

Official Top 500 Driver Standings

Official Standings By State/Province

NASCAR Finalist Program / Asphalt

For more than 25 years, racing at short tracks throughout the country has provided the foundation for NASCAR. That tradition continues in 2011 as the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series will crown champions at the track, state and national level.

The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series is NASCAR’s national championship program for short-track racing. Connecticut-based Whelen Engineering, a leading manufacturer of automotive, aviation, industrial and emergency vehicle lighting, is the series sponsor. More than 10,000 drivers compete at NASCAR-sanctioned short tracks throughout the U.S. and Canada.

• The track champions are determined by local track points. A competitor does not have to be a track champion in order to win a state or national championship.

• State/province champions are those competitors who accumulate the most NASCAR points at any NASCAR-sanctioned track within a state or province. Points will not transfer between states or provinces, but a competitor may compete for more than one championship.
The crowning of U.S. state and Canadian province champions was resumed in 2007, continuing a NASCAR tradition of honoring the top drivers at the regional level that dates back to the earliest days of NASCAR. The list of NASCAR greats who have won state championships includes Richie Evans, Red Farmer, Ned Jarrett, Jerry Cook, Ralph Earnhardt, Cale Yarborough, David Pearson, Sterling Marlin, Harry Gant, Geoff Bodine and Jack Ingram.

• The national champion is the competitor who accumulates the highest total of NASCAR points. Drivers are able to compete at any NASCAR-sanctioned facility in North America.

RECORD BOOK (1982-2010)

In 2010, Keith Rocco of Wallingford, Conn., won his first national championship with a maximum score of 810 points. He became the first national champion to accomplish this feat under the NASCAR championship format since the late Larry Phillips and current NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Greg Biffle in 1995. Phillips and Biffle achieved the maximum points under the system at the time; Phillips won the crown by virtue of more overall wins (32-27).

The new simplified point structure – introduced in 2007 – features an “inverted” point’s format, with car counts affecting the amount of points a competitor receives. Points are awarded in ascending order with the last place car receiving two points, next-to-last receiving four and then up through the field in two point increments – up to a maximum 20 cars. In addition, the race winner receives an additional five (5) bonus points. (For example, the feature winner in a 10-car field will receive 20 NASCAR points, while the feature winner in a 20-car field would receive 45.) Competitors will count their 18 highest point finishes through Sept. 18, 2011.

Throughout the season the top 500 feature division drivers are ranked nationally according to their NASCAR points. At the end of the season, each top 500 driver will receive a certificate of recognition from NASCAR displaying their 2011 ranking.

In addition, drivers will be competing to put their name on the handcrafted trophy commissioned by NASCAR to honor the national champion. The perpetual trophy, which was introduced in 2007, is over 3 feet tall and 84 pounds, and displays the names of all the previous national champions on nickel silver sub-base plates.

The 2011 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion will receive a separate individual champions’ version of the award.

Beginning in 2009, NASCAR recognizes the rookie of the year in each state and province, and the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national rookie of the year.

The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion, along with U.S. state and Canadian provincial champions, track champions and special award winners are honored at the season-ending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Awards Banquet at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C.

The local racing program was founded in 1982. Since its inception, the series has been a successful starting point for the careers of many top drivers. NASCAR stars Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Kurt and Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Bobby Labonte, Jamie McMurray, Elliott Sadler and Brian Vickers all began their careers in this series.


2013 Saturday Night NWAAS & INEX Champions