Friday 7/11 Little Guys 200 Results

Waterford, CT (July 11, 2014) – Waterford Speedbowl returned to motorsports action Friday night with the Belltown Tire Service Center Little Guys 200, putting four of the track’s support divisions into the spotlight. Open competition Mini Stock and Street Stock events paid each winner $1,000.00. Corey Hutchings of Salem was the Street Stock winner for the second consecutive season, while Nick Anderson of Oxford, MA took the checkered flag in the night’s Mini Stock race. Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott continued his mastery of the Legend Cars division and Eric Finkbein Jr. of East Hartford won the X-Car race. Belltown Tire Service Center put on a Pit Crew Challenge on the track’s front chute between races, won by the team of Mitch Bombard of Willimantic.

Hutchings dominated in the 50-lap open Street Stock race to pocket the winner’s purse. He took the lead from Durham’s Al Stone following a lap-5 restart, one of only two in the race. Mystic’s Ryan Morgan came on strong over the middle of the race to move to second, however he retired from the event with mechanical failure setting in on his machine after the halfway mark. Stone continued in second, but had nothing for Hutchings even after a late restart. Stone finished second and A.J. Solomon of Warwick, RI finished third in his first-ever visit to the Speedbowl.

Christopher won the non-stop 50-lap Legend Cars feature. Last year’s Saturday series champion Dylan Izzo took the lead on the opening lap, quickly pulling ahead while Christopher worked his way through the field. Christopher moved to second position on lap-8 and used a wide open track to run down Izzo by lap-12. He took the lead with an inside move through turns one and two on lap-15, and Izzo tucked in behind and stayed with Christopher for another ten laps. Christopher slowly pulled away and without a caution flag, Izzo could not muster a bid on Christopher. Izzo, from Westport, was second and George Whitney of Westbrook ended up third.

The 50-lap X-Car race turned out to be a great battle among three drivers. Mitch Bombard led early but lost the top spot to Plainfield’s Eddie Loomis, who tailed him for several laps before pulling ahead just past halfway through the race. Finkbein ran third after battling for the position for multiple laps. Loomis led until the first and only caution flag came out on lap-35. Loomis had his hands full on the restart, as both Bombard and Finkbein challenged him in a three-wide battle when the green flag returned. Bombard took command on the top of the track with Finkbein chasing him down low. The two ran the next several circuits side-by-side with Finkbein inching ahead each lap. Finkbein finally took the lead on lap-48 and was able to take the win by just one half car length at the checkered flag. Loomis finished in third.

The open Mini Stock race was controlled from start to finish by Anderson. Following up a third place effort in last Saturday’s NASCAR Mini Stock race at the Speedbowl, Anderson quickly moved in front and stayed there. One yellow flag slowed Anderson’s pace over the 25-lap feature. Jordan Hadley of Quaker Hill finished second and Christopher Veins of Putnam was third in his first Speedbowl start.

The Speedbowl takes a break from its Saturday night NASCAR racing this week, resuming with another Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday race program on July 16. Sho & Go Friday’s return on July 18, and NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing picks up next Saturday, July 19. Full details on all the Speedbowl’s upcoming events can be found at


Unofficial Waterford Speedbowl 7/11 Little Guys 200 Results:

Open Comp Street Stocks (50-laps): 1. Corey Hutchings, Salem; 2. Al Stone III, Durham; 3. Andrew Solomon, West Warwick, RI; 4. Ryan Lineham, Hope Valley, RI; 5. Jack Aquilina, Oakdale; 6. Bob Bettencourt, Tiverton, RI; 7. Ryan Morgan, Mystic; 8. Corey Coates, Ledyard; DNS – Crystal Serydynski, Johnston, RI

Open Comp Mini Stocks (50-laps): 1. Nick Anderson, Oxford, MA; 2. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 3. Christopher Viens, Putnam

INEX Legend Cars (50-laps): 1. Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott; 2. Dylan Izzo, Westport; 3. George Whitney, Westbrook; 4. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme; 5. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott; 6. Cassandra Cole, Westbrook; DQ – Joey Ternullo, Middletown

X-Cars (50-laps): 1. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford; 2. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic; 3. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 4. Rich Nye, Stonington; 5. Wayne Shifflett, Preston; 6. Chris Lee, Uncasville; 7. Michael Olsen, Deep River; 8. David D’Alessandro Jr., Coventry; 9. Elizabeth Gaston, Vernon; 10. Tom Sheehan, Baltic; 11. Chris Thomas, Waterford; 12. Onie Pierce, Norwich; 13. Craig Tavernier, Moosup; 14. Mike Shaw, Oakdale


Did you like this? Share it: