Budweiser Modified Nationals hightlights Saturday’s Thunder on the Sound

17th annual $5,000 to win SK-150 part of seven division program


Waterford, CT (August 29, 2013) – Waterford Speedbowl brings summer to a close this Labor Day weekend as it hosts one of its biggest events of the season on Saturday, the annual ‘Thunder on the Sound’. The seven-division race program is once again anchored by the 17th annual Budweiser Modified Nationals SK-150, a showdown of the best SK Modified® drivers across the northeast. A full NASCAR Whelen All-American Series race program along with INEX racing joins the SK-150 main event.

The biggest race of the year for NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified® competitors puts them to task for 150 laps with the race winner adding their name to the history books, joining an elite list in taking home the $5,000 winner’s purse. A large turnout of cars is expected for the big event, which carries over $20,000 in posted prize money and a special winner’s trophy.

Leading the list of expected entries is Keith Rocco, the defending race winner. Rocco teamed up with relief driver Todd Ceravolo to score the win last year after the event was halted due to rain on its original date. Rocco was the winner of record. Ceravolo, currently second in championship points behind Rocco, is in the midst of his best Speedbowl campaign since his 1997 championship season and is a prime contender to claim his first official event win. Woody Pitkat, the 2011 race winner, is an expected entry in the Paige #00 he piloted to a Mod Nats triumph.

Defending track champion Tyler Chadwick seeks his first SK-150 victory and is brimming with confidence after recent extra-distance wins, most recently a 100-lap feature in July. Veteran racer Rob Janovic Jr. is hungry to add an SK-150 win to round out an accomplished Speedbowl resume. He tangled with Justin Gaydosh late in the race battling for the win a year ago. Both are expected Saturday. Ted Christopher, the 1999 race winner, is looking for a breakout performance to claim his first ‘Bowl win since 2004 after some strong runs in the Dipisa #13. Kyle James, lightning fast many weeks in his family-owned #21, along with Diego Monahan, Joe Gada and Craig Lutz are also hopefuls. Not to be overshadowed, a list of ‘outsiders’ including Matt Galko in the Verno #25 are ready to play spoiler.

In addition to the Budweiser Modified Nationals SK-150, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series action from the Bob Valenti Auto Mall Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and SK Light Modifieds is on Saturday’s racing card. The INEX Legend Cars and Bandoleros complete the seven-division event. Pit gates open at 2:00pm with practice commencing at 3:00pm on Saturday. Qualifying for the event begins at 5:00pm, including heat races plus consolation races if needed for the Budweiser Modified Nationals. Opening ceremonies and the first of seven feature races begins at 6:30pm.

Fans are encouraged to visit Speedbowl.com from home or their mobile phones for more information about the Budweiser Modified Nationals SK-150 and Thunder on the Sound event.


Did you like this? Share it: