Budweiser Modified Nationals highlights Thunder on the Sound Saturday

18th annual $5,000 to win SK-150 part of seven division program

Waterford, CT (August 25, 2014) – Waterford Speedbowl roars into Labor Day weekend with the biggest pay day of the year for its NASCAR All-American Series SK Modified® division on Saturday, August 30. The 18th annual Budweiser Modified Nationals SK-150 takes center stage with a $5,000 winner’s prize and a total posted race purse of greater than $20,000. A banner field of competition is expected to turn out once again for the event.

The original big money SK Modified® race, the Modified Nationals debuted at the Speedbowl in 1997 and was the brainchild of track owner and promoter Terry Eames and his staff. According to Eames, “It’s a celebration of our weekly competitors. They deserve the attention. They deserve the pay day. They are the back bone of what we do and it’s only fitting we honor them with a big event”.

Over the nearly two decade history of the event, there’s been no shortage of drama and memorable finishes. Steve Chowansky won the inaugural edition and quickly set a tone that has prevailed for the better part of two decades – the home track stars taking on outside competition looking to swoon in for a big check. It’s created a dynamic unique to the Modified Nationals event and helped stage much of the drama.

Arguably, the biggest names in SK Modified® racing have filled the list of winners. Keith Rocco checkered the race last year in what many consider as his first official win in the big money event. In 2012, controversy saw Rocco begin the race, but rain came and Rocco was under suspension by the time the race resumed two weeks later. Todd Ceravolo subbed for Rocco and finished off the win after a late race tangle between leaders Justin Gaydosh and Rob Janovic Jr. In 2011, Woody Pitkat came out on top after a wild conclusion saw Ceravolo run out of fuel in the final laps. Jeff Pearl won the race in 2007 with late race heroics after drama unfolded among the lead cars. Seven time track champion Dennis Gada is a two-time event winner. Ron Yuhas Jr. also won the event twice, along with Eric Berndt. Ted Christopher championed the race in 1999. Nearly each of the previous seventeen editions has had a plot twist, keeping the race in rare air.

Six additional divisions join Saturday’s Budweiser Modified Nationals during Thunder on the Sound. The SK Light Modifieds, Valenti Auto Mall Late Models, Street Stocks and Mini Stocks round out NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing. The INEX Legend Cars and Vintage Outlaw Modifieds complete the card. Qualifying races begin at 5:00, including heat races plus consolation races if needed for the Budweiser Modified Nationals. Opening ceremonies and the first of seven feature races begins at 6:30pm.



Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, NWASS News, Speedbowl General · Tags: