Angelillo Memorial Next For NEMA at Speedbowl

courtesy NEMA

Brockton, MA – The Northeastern Midget Association returns to Waterford Speedbowl Saturday night for the Angelillo Memorial still looking for its first two-time winner. The NEMA Lites are on the agenda as the club honors the memory of Marilyn and Gene Angelillo.

Only two points separate defending champ and current leader Randy Cabral and Russ Stoehr in the championship battle. They are one-two in career NEMA Waterford wins, Stoehr’s seventh Speedbowl checkered coming in last year’s Angelillo event.

It is a points race for the Lites as well, three-time winner Carl Mederios Jr. the current leader. The first race in Lites history was runat the Speedbowl in 2009.

It will be NEMA’s fourth visit to the ‘Bowl this season, John Zych Jr, Greg Stoehr and Anthony Marvuglio the previous winners. Marvuglio’s 12.937 back in the May is the fastest feature lap but NEMA powers are convinced it can be lowered.

Jim Miller is riding high after a dominating victory at Oswego Speedway last week. Backing that with a second career win at the Speedbowl would be a career highlight for the veteran owner/driver. In addition to Zych, Greg Stoehr and Marvuglio, Miller joins Mike Horn, Adam Cantor, Cabral and rookie Seth Carlson on the 2012 win list. All hope to become the season’s first two-time winner. Paul Scally, Jeff Horn, Todd Bertrand and James Santa Maria are among those hoping to deny them.

Despite eight career wins, Waterford’s Victory Lane has been off limits for Cabral for several races, the popular three-time champion desperately wants to end. Bringing the former Angelillo crew to victory lane for a second straight year would delight six-time champ Stoehr.

Ian Cumens, also a winner at Oswego, aims to join Ryan Bigelow, Brandon Igo and Avery Stoehr as 2012 NEMA Lite winners. Stoehr, 16, claimed the Hammond Memorial a few weeks back with a last lap pass. He was third at Oswego behind Cumens and Paul Bigelow. Medeiros and RJ Tufano return believing the ‘Bowl may owe them something. They posted the fastest laps in the previous two Waterford races only to fall victim to dame fortune. Cabral will be looking for a second Lites win this year. Seeking their first checkered will be Dylan Duhaime, Bethany Stoehr, Paul Bigelow, Andy Barrows and Danny Cugini.

Marilyn and Gene Angelillo were the most successful owners in NEMA history. The #45 Dumo’s Desire carries on the Angelillo tradition which captured 14 championships and over 100 feature wins. In addition, they served the club in a number of positions. Gene was president and Marilyn secretary for a number of years.

Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Headlines, News, Speedbowl General, WnWW News · Tags: